Australia Day

26 January 2015

98 days to go

Ambassador Program


The Australia Day Ambassador Program was successfully launched in Western Australia in 2008.  Each year since then inspirational Aussies have visited a growing number of local communities on Australia Day. 

The program commenced in the eastern states in 1990 and, with the enthusiastic support of Woolworths, has grown from an initial nine Ambassadors to over 750 high achieving Australians now registered for participation and well over 300 of whom participate each year.

The aims of the program are:

  • To promote the celebration of Australia Day
  • To give recognition to Australia’s outstanding individuals for their achievements
  • To provide an opportunity for all Australians, particularly those in country areas, to meet and gain inspiration from Australian achievers from all walks of life
  • To help provide a link between city and country – promoting understanding and heightening awareness of rural needs and problems
  • To increase community spirit and involvement of all Australians, regardless of origin and background, in Australia Day activities

This Australia Day Ambassadors travelled to the following local communities:

Albany, Augusta, Cannington, Capel, Carnarvon, Cowaramup, Esperance, Fremantle, Geraldton, Gosnells, Joondalup, Mandurah, Margaret River, Newman, Northam, Stirling and Wyndham.

Australia Day Ambassadors have featured the following list of outstanding Western Australians:

Allana Slater, Darren Lomman, Ashlee Harrison, Shelly Taylor-Smith, Ken McAullay, Graham Moss, Josh Byrne, Priya Cooper, Patti Chong, John Worsfold, Ros Worthington, Ralph Martins, Murray Lampard, Claire Tonkin, Brian Greedy, Rhonda Parker, Damien Thornber, Jayde Taylor, Larry Kickett, Penny Flett, Tessa Parkinson, Elise Rechichi, Barry Cable, Eoin Cameron, Tim Gossage, Tod Johnston, Mark Sheen, Fiona Wood, Karen Tighe, Mark Bin Bakar, Garth Tander






Ambassadors l-r: Prof Ralph Martins (WA Australian of the Year 2010) Allana Slater (Olympic Gymnast)
Darren Lomman (Founder Dreamfit)  Priya Cooper (Paralympian)