Citizen of the Year Logo

The Australia Day Active Citizenship Awards program has been delivered in partnership with Local Government organisations, for more than 14 years.  The program has evolved into one of the key activities and draw-cards for Local Governments at their annual Australia Day Citizenship celebrations.

Bigger and better for 2017


In 2017, Australia Day WA is celebrating its 40th anniversary and is relaunching the awards with an expanded program including a name change and a range of improvements to coincide with the anniversary.  The awards are now being formally renamed the Citizen of the Year Awards.

The Patron of Australia Day WA is Her Excellency, the Governor of Western Australia and for the first time in the history of the awards, the Governor has agreed to come on as a signatory of the program certificates – a huge honour and very special acknowledgement for those community members who are nominated and recognised by their local council in each of the categories.

The criteria for the awards will remain similar to previous years, though you will now be able to recognise a wider range of your community champions through four categories:

  • Citizen of the Year

  • Citizen of the Year - Senior (over 65 years of age)

  • Citizen of the Year - Youth (under 25 years of age)

  • Active Citizenship Award (to recognise a community group or event)

A dedicated Citizen of the Year Awards website has been launched with full details on the new look awards.  To register your council's interest in participating in the awards for Australia Day 2017 please contact us today on 9325-9988 to discuss or download a registration form.


Australia Day WA, through all of its Awards Programs, is keen to recognise those displaying the ideals of social justice, cultural diversity and acknowledging the importance that the  reconciliation process plays in enabling people to feel valued and contribute more positively to society.