Register your school to hear from inspirational Young Australians
Link to register
Great Australians - inspirational individuals with a common goal to help make Australia even greater
Free Student Forum - 25 October 2016

Great Australians 2016

← Go back

Great Australians 2016

WA Great Australians at 'The Gap'

Our  2014 Great Australians with Canning Vale Primary School Student Leaders


Two free Public Forums featuring Western Australia’s four Australian of the Year Award recipients were presented by the Australia Day Council of Western Australia.

This was the first time for us to present the four WA Australians of the Year at two free public forums and we were excited to offer such inspiring opportunities for them to provide an insight into why they received their accolades.  We heard from:

  • Senior Australian of the Year - Fred Chaney AO together with 
  • WA Australian of the Year - Prof Bruce Robinson AM, 
  • WA Young Australian of the Year – Dr John van Bockxmeer, and 
  • WA Local Hero – Denise Smith Ali 

The Octagon Theatre at the University of WA was a fantastic venue for the first forum and the second forum was held at the QEII Community Centre in Geraldton.  It was a first for ADCWA to hold such an event in a regional centre and was very warmly received by the Geraldton community on a very cold and blustery evening.

As well as the public forums we visited primary and high schools where students were excited and inspired to meet and hear from these Great Australians.

The Tour finished off with a Civic Reception hosted by the City of Greater Geraldton where we met many Australia Day supporters and local Citizenship Award recipients.  It was a great way to foster an already successful relationship with our colleagues at the City of Greater Geraldton and their stakeholders.

These events provided an opportunity to launch the WA call for nominations for the 2015 Australian of the Year Awards. It only takes one nomination to ‘shine a light’ on the next Australian of the Year.

Australian of the Year WA 2014 recipients bios (181 KB)




July 2013

Ita Buttrose speaking  Akram Azimi speaking


The Australia Day Council of WA held another successful Great Australians Breakfast at The State Reception Centre, Fraser’s Restaurant, Kings Park to recognise the accomplishments of both Ita Buttrose, 2013 Australian of the Year and Akram Azimi, 2013 Young Australian of the Year. 

Our thanks go to The Chamber of Minerals and Energy WA (CME) for their generous support of this inspiring event. 

Event Sponsor

CME_LOGO_A_Orange Blue WEB



August 2012

 Donna Marita Graham And Governor

It was an absolute treat to hear from these two inspirational ladies about their past achievements and their aspirations for the future.

A diverse group of guests were enthralled to hear from the Young Australian of the Year and the WA Australian of the Year as all enjoyed a delicious breakfast.

The University of Western Australia and the Chamber of Minerals and Energy very generously sponsored the event and their support is much appreciated. 

Hearing these wonderful stories emphasised how important it is to shine a light on outstanding individuals and the work they do which has such a positive impact on our lives.

Event Sponsors

CME_LOGO_A_Orange Blue WEB UWA Web




October 2011

Simon Marina Jessica Governor Graham

The Fremantle Maritime Museum proved to be a wonderfully appropriate venue for this latest in our Great Australians events.  The sailing connection with both Simon McKeon and Jessica Watson provided a great opportunity to host an event in Fremantle.

BHP Billiton sponsored the breakfast event which was the first one in an official capacity for ADCWA's Patron, His Excellency Mr Malcolm McCusker AO QC, Governor of WA.

Both Great Australian speakers provided inspirational speeches and all guests were encouraged to nominate the next Australian of the Year.

Event Sponsor

BHP Billiton


October 2010

Graham , Dr Ralph , Marina , Mc Gorry

A meeting of the minds for two inspirational leaders of Mental Health at our recent Great Australians event.  This time, a hearty breakfast at the magnificent Government House Ballroom featuring Australian of the Year Professor Patrick McGorry, Mental Health expert, and WA Australian of the Year Professor Ralph Martins, world renowned Alzheimer's Disease expert.

Edith Cowan University and the Mental Health Commission provided valuable funds to sponsor the event.  Professor Kerry Cox, Vice Chancellor of ECU and the Hon Graeme Jacobs, Minister for Mental Health both acknowledged the incredible work of the two outstanding Australians and acknowledged how their achievements and the recognition afforded them through the Australian of the Year Awards Program helped raise the profile of Mental Health issues.

Over 200 guests attended to hear from these two great Australians.

Event Sponsors





July 2010

Maggie And Ralph

The Australia Day Council of Western Australia continues to present inspirational speakers from our family of Australian of the Year Award winners.

The Great Australians speaker series supports the Australia Day Council of Western Australia’s objective of leading conversation about Australia’s identity and to inspire and strengthen a strong sense of pride.

This time, supported by the Department for Communities, we presented an exclusive Celebration Sundowner to recognise the achievements of the Senior Australian of the Year 2010, culinary icon, Maggie Beer during her flying visit to Perth during her Tour of Honour commitments.  Wine sponsorship was provided by Constellation Wines.

MC Geoff Hutchinson of ABC Radio welcomed all to the Dress Circle Foyer at His Majesty’s Theatre which was a beautiful venue for this informal sundowner.  Marina Valmadre, Chair of the Australia Day Council of WA welcomed Maggie, guests, thanked event sponsors and acknowledged the ongoing support of our growing family of partners and supporters.

Tickets sold like hotcakes to attend this informal event and to 'Mingle with Maggie'.


Event Sponsor

Dept For Communities - Colour